RSS

Dog Eat Dog

01 May

For lack of a better term…yesterday I was flamed on a popular social networking site. Suffice it to say, I was flamed for offering advice to an author. I mentioned pricing in the comment and was not aware at that time that mentioning pricing in the group was not allowed. I do not use that as an excuse however because I should have made myself aware of the group rules.

Another group member decided to flame me, letting the group know that due to the low cost I was charging a client, that my editing was horrible and I was only ripping the client off because his/her book would need an additional edit due to the horrible edit I was going to give him/her.

I emailed this individual privately to take it off the board because I ashamedly let myself get into a flaming war in the group, for everyone to read. The response from this person was calling me foul names using language that I won’t even attempt to use here.

I let this get to me because for one, this person knows nothing about the quality of work I do. Secondly, I’m wondering to myself as to how an adult could act this way. At first, I wanted to hang up the towel and leave this business. See, Sapling is a part-time job for me at the moment. Writing, publishing and anything to do with books has always been a passion of mine. I began writing creative stories as early as grade school. I always excelled and received very good grades in my creative writing and English classes.

I’ve always wanted to me a writer, but never took any advanced classes because like many, I grew up hearing, “You’ll starve. Only a very few make any real money in it.” As a result, I set off in a completely different direction and have worked in many different positions. Currently I work full-time as a technical writer, which is now a position I’ve worked in for over 10 years. It’s writing, but maybe not the type that most people think about when they think of a writer. I have a graduate degree in education, primarily adult education. Now at the age of 40, I am working on my first novel and wondering if I should actually take some of those advanced writing courses. I do write and sell articles and have written numerous short stories but have yet to have any of my actual stories published.

I’ve gotten off track here. I wanted to throw in the towel yesterday and leave the world of publishing. Why? Because sometimes it’s dog eat dog. I wondered further last night however as to what would happen if a majority of people in this business decided to throw in the towel, simply because of the derogatory comments of one person (or even more for that matter). Heck, this could be said for anything and anyone’s dream really. Very few come without sweat, blood and tears from time to time. Most people fall flat on their backs before truly succeeding in something. Although not really verified, I’ve always heard how Stephen King has decorated one wall of his office with rejection letters by various publishers. Just imagine if he had let those drive him away from his dream.

So I want to tell all of you…yes, there will be times you will want to give up. There might be flaming and hateful words. There might be someone out there telling you that you are not good enough, or that you need to find a “real job.” Don’t listen. If this is what you want to do, don’t listen because at the end of the day, YOU are the one that has to look at yourself in the mirror and YOU are the one that knows what you dream truly is.

Go forth and conquer, my friends. (Evin – http://www.mrgurupublishing.com)

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 1, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Dog Eat Dog

  1. cherieinhim

    May 1, 2013 at 9:15 am

    An old southern preacher once said, “If you don’t come face to face with the devil sometimes, you must be going the same direction he is.” (Seems you’re going the right direction. Keep going. God has gifted and purposed your life. Don’t let anything or anyone steer you from the path He puts before you. : )

     
  2. steveandchrista

    May 1, 2013 at 2:12 pm

    Thank you for the great encouragement here!! I find all the “rules” online and in various groups almost IMPOSSIBLE to figure out! 😦 But you are right–even if I make a mistake (as I already have) and/or other people treat me badly, I need to go on despite those things!

     
    • Sapling Publishing

      May 2, 2013 at 7:44 am

      It can definitely be difficult to keep up with everything, not to mention the constant changes. You are doing great!

       
  3. mostdiggity

    May 4, 2013 at 1:21 am

    Dude, haters hate… baiters bait… debaters debate. Never let a Master(de)bater, or a Homer or hater beat you down. Their very existence alone means you’re UP (but look out for stains on the rug)..

     

Leave a Reply

 
