RSS

My Own Writing

23 Apr

The moment has finally arrived. I have been asked to give a sample of my own writing. Okay yeah it’s scary. I’ve written and published technical manuals and articles but have never shared any of my very own creative type of writing. I’m sitting here thinking, “Okay. People are about to slam me. Who am I fooling? I can’t write!” Well, you never know until you put it out there. Without further adieu:

“The light was beautiful, more brilliant than any she had ever seen. She felt its pulsating heart beat with each breath she took. She knew within that moment that life was beautiful.

The tunnel had been dark and foreboding. A place where happiness had eluded and time had forgotten. At times the tunnel had grown to an almost suffocating size. A size in where she had been forced to crawl upon her hands and knees, the constriction unlike anything she had ever known.

It was during those times she had wanted to stop. Had wanted to lie down, cry and wither where she had lain. It was somehow, within those moments that strength and courage seemed to manifest themselves, encouraging her to go on, strength and courage that had remained until that moment, hidden in the depths of her mind, her soul, her ego.

She almost audibly heard the voice, “Don’t give up, don’t give up, don’t give up,” and she hadn’t. She hadn’t given up. She had emerged from the dark, dank tunnel into the light. The brilliant light that now shone on her face, warming her soul like a steaming cup of coffee, light steam slowly rising from its core.

She knew in that moment, that looking back upon the exit of the tunnel would reveal a closure. A closure permanently sealed, one to never be reentered. That light, that strength that courage…they were all within her and her alone.

She looked again upon the light. She heard the soft closing of a door behind her as she entered the ocean of warmth. An ocean welcoming her with open arms to the next chapter. The next chapter of her life.”


 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “My Own Writing

  1. steveandchrista

    May 1, 2013 at 2:20 pm

    Oh, my, this affected me. As someone going through a very difficult time (for 4 1/2 years now), I could immediately identify greatly with your character. And, this made me think of some things regarding my trials that I have never thought of before. Yes, you can write!!! 🙂 And deeply.

     

Leave a Reply

 
