RSS

Rejection to Pulitzer

11 Apr

I will share the fact that I am a fan of Civil War books, movies and literature. I love reading about the Civil War, Abe Lincoln and so forth. It’s just something about that time in history that draws me to it.

Imagine my delight when I found a copy of, “The Killer Angels” by Michael Shaara while browsing a used book store last weekend. Not only that, but I also happened upon the sequel, “The Last Full Measure” written by his son, Jeff Shaara. Let’s just say that I left the store with both of them securely in my bag and well, I guess I should also thank my wife because in reality, she is the one that happened upon them. 😉

I’m not sure how familiar you are with “The Killer Angels” but this book, written in 1974, won the Pulitzer in 1975. Let me not forget to add however that it was originally rejected by 15 publishers. Yes, 15. No worries though. Besides eventually being picked up and published by Random House, Michael Shaara’s book is also responsible for the movie, “Gettysburg.” Yeah, you’ve probably heard of it. It was based off of “The Killer Angels.” Yeah, that’s right. Should I also add a “BAZINGA!” here (not certain on the spelling, but if you are a fan of The Big Bang theory, then you’ll get it.)?

If you are interested to read more, you can find some good info here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Killer_Angels.

Unfortunately Michael Shaara passed away in 1988 at the young age of 60 however his son Jeff and daughter Lila have graciously continued the Shaara legacy.

Just another great success story. (Evin – http://www.mrgurupublishing.com)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
