RSS

Marketing and Responsibility

19 Feb

One word I want for you to think about whether you self or traditional publish. MARKETING. Without it, you won’t sell your book. Period.

A lot of authors make the mistake of thinking if they go with a publisher (indie or major publishing house) that books will magically sell. Why? Because the publisher will sell them. This my friends, is false. No publisher is going to sell your books for you. On the flip side, a publisher may help you, but you will still need to do a majority of the legwork.

I’ve had authors picked up by publishers tell me that the publisher didn’t know his/her job because their books didn’t sell. The first question I ask them is, “What was your marketing plan?” Some of them look at me like I have three heads. Someway, somehow they had the idea that marketing wasn’t their responsibility.

Marketing is your responsibility and in fact, you should begin to market your book before you have completed it. I will also tell you that many publishers will want to see your marketing plan before they will even think about accepting your manuscript.

As a publisher, I will tell you that I help authors with marketing but it’s just that…help. I will do what I can on my end as far as distribution and such but, I need their help too. I need them to go out and try to sell their product. I need them to hold readings and tours (this can be done on a shoestring budget…think YouTube and such).

It’s the same if you are self-published, but most self-publishers tend to already be aware that marketing is the key.

Not sure where to begin or how to market? Conduct some research online, speak with a publishing consultant, read some books. The info is out there and you can do it!

I have full faith in you! (Evin – http://www.mrgurupublishing.com)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 19, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
