RSS

Working full-time as a writer

31 Jan

I was once again reading the Writer’s Digest and found an article discussing how to make money as a freelance copyrighter. It made me wonder how many novelists work full-time in some other writing capacity. For example, I have many years experience working as a technical writer. What about you, my readers? Do you currently work in some form of a writing capacity?

Inquiring minds want to know… (Evin – http://www.mrgurupublishing.com)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Working full-time as a writer

  1. Michelle Proulx

    February 1, 2013 at 8:01 am

    Technical writer here. I actually kind of wish I could find a different job that paid as well, because writing all day for work and then writing all night for fun can cause somewhat of a writing overdose.

     
    • mrgurupublishing

      February 1, 2013 at 8:24 am

      Hey Michelle, funny that we do the same job. I’m still a tech writer as well. I fully understand what you mean. That’s another reason I decided to start my own publishing firm. Working on the publishing side helps me to take a break from the constant writing. Not to mention the fact that I get to read some great works by new authors. Gotta love it! 😉

       
  2. scottbpruden

    February 1, 2013 at 10:35 am

    As a former newspaper guy, I split my time between journalistic work for magazines and newspapers and copy writing for business clients (as well as some non-writing stuff helping international corporate transferees settle in to life in the U.S.). Since I make very little money off my fiction writing, the freelance stuff keeps the cash flowing. Having multiple clients/outlets on my list means I always have a gig with someone even when others are dry, and the relocation work gives me a writing break while allowing me an excuse to get out of the house. The way I work around the “overdose” issue that Michelle mentioned is by trying to do all my fiction writing in a one- to two-hour bloc early in the morning (like 5:30 a.m. early).

     

Leave a Reply

 
